Daily Archives: November 11, 2008

Who Wrote the Book of Love?

olbermanncomment

Keith Olbermann – Special Comment

November 11, 2008

Quoting Olbermann:

“Some parameters, as preface. This isn’t about yelling, and this isn’t about politics, and this isn’t really just about Prop-8.  And I don’t have a personal investment in this: I’m not gay…..

“And yet to me this vote is horrible. Horrible. Because this isn’t about yelling, and this isn’t about politics. This is about the human heart, and if that sounds corny, so be it.

[…..] Paraphrasing – and if you voted for this or support someone who did…..

“What is this, to you? Nobody is asking you to embrace their expression of love. But don’t you, as human beings, have to embrace… that love? The world is barren enough.”

[…..]

And Continuing:

“You are asked now, by your country, and perhaps by your creator, to stand on one side or another. You are asked now to stand, not on a question of politics, not on a question of religion, not on a question of gay or straight. You are asked now to stand, on a question of love. All you need do is stand, and let the tiny ember of love meet its own fate.

“This is the second time in ten days I find myself concluding by turning to, of all things, the closing plea for mercy by Clarence Darrow in a murder trial.

‘I was reading last night of the aspiration of the old Persian poet, Omar-Khayyam, ‘he told the judge. It appealed to me as the highest that I can vision. I wish it was in my heart, and I wish it was in the hearts of all: So I be written in the Book of Love; I do not care about that Book above. Erase my name, or write it as you will, So I be written in the Book of Love.'”

*****

And they’re playing our song…..

I Wonder, Wonder Who?….Who? Who Wrote the Book of Love?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MW_SKWjrE2U

*****

There’s a video and full transcript at link:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/27650743

allyyouneedislove

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rLxTpsIVzzo&feature=related

protester-point

I see this video has been removed.  But you can believe me it was very “loving” where an elderly woman was attacked by this “loving” crowd.

Love Is All You Need

Leave a comment

Filed under Human Interest, Humor, life, Media, Trivia, Uncategorized

Parrot Helped Save Little Girl’s Life (Update)

A babysitter’s parrot is being credited with helping save the life of a 2-year-old girl who was choking Friday at a Denver area home while the sitter was in the bathroom.

willieparrot Here’s Willie

“While I was in the bathroom, Willie, (a Quaker Parrot) started screaming like I’d never heard him scream before and he started flapping his wings,” said Meagan, the babysitter. “Then he started saying ‘mama baby’ over and over and over again until I came out and looked at Hannah and Hannah’s face was turning blue because she was choking on her pop tart.”

Meagan performed the Heimlich maneuver on Hannah, which stopped the choking.

“If Willie had not warned me, I probably wouldn’t have come out of the bathroom in time because she was already turning blue, her lips were blue and everything,” Meagan said.

“If anything happened to her, I don’t know what I would do,” said Samantha Kuusk, Hannah’s mother. “I’m very grateful for the both of them because they both saved her.”

UPDATE:  On last Friday, Willie got the local Red Cross chapters’ Animal Lifesaver Award during a “Breakfast of Champions” event which  was attended by Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter and Denver Mayor John Hickenlooper.

These little Quaker parrots don’t usually get the credit they deserve.  They are very intelligent and have loads of personality, displaying a wide range of “emotions” from happy, singing, dancing, and, of course, mad as a hornet.  So I don’t doubt this story at all.  Mine notices anything that is out of the ordinary.  And the words she says are so appropriate to the situation.  For example, you start sweeping or cleaning out the cage, and it’s, “What’cha doing?” or “Thank you” when you give her a treat.

Posted:  11.11.08  Updated:  03.24.09

1 Comment

Filed under Human Interest, life, Pets, Trivia, Uncategorized