Daily Archives: September 2, 2008

I Love Sarah Palin

I hate the media.  And I’m not the only one.

And I am stunned and appalled at the negative and hostile reaction to Sarah Palin from the media and some other blabber-mouths.

I heard Mr. Obama and Joe Biden have tried to distance themselves from this, and wisely so.

I don’t know if it shows a complete lack of understanding or if it is an attempt to sabotage the Obama campaign.  This will clearly hurt him.  I have put some quotes from a New York Times article that was in their paper.  I tried to provide a link but for some reason it just won’t work.  Maybe they don’t allow links, or maybe it’s just my computer, I don’t know.

Mrs. Clinton’s recent candidacy was a moment of reckoning for women of her generation, who treated her run as a mirror in which to examine their own lives. With Ms. Palin’s entry into the field, a younger generation of women have picked up that mirror, using her candidacy to address the question of just how demanding a job a mother with such intense family obligations should tackle.

Many women expressed incredulity — some of it polite, some angry — that Ms. Palin would pursue the vice presidency given her younger son’s age and condition. Infants with Down syndrome often need special care in the first years of life: extra tests, physical therapy, even surgery.

And upon hearing Monday that Ms. Palin had known of the pregnancy of her 17-year-old daughter, Bristol, before accepting the vice-presidential slot, some wondered why she had not bypassed the offer in order to spare her daughter the scrutiny.

I just heard Campbell Brown on CNN express the same thing — something about subjecting her daughter to all this scrutiny….blah, blah, blah.  Now, why would a woman give up an opportunity to be the first woman in history to serve as Vice President of the United States because her daughter was pregnant?  How many families have faced a similar situation?  I don’t see any reason at all why she shouldn’t continue on with her life and I find it insulting, frankly, to even hear this question.

And once again we see the MSM blatantly trying to get Barack Obama elected, something they have been doing this entire political season, and they don’t think twice about running a media storm and hit job on Sarah Palin.  After all, they did it to Hillary Clinton.

But there is an air of desperation about this, panic, grasping at straws.  I have said for a long time that they get to choose who they will destroy and who they will not touch.  And does anybody wonder why the National Enquirer has become more credible than the New York Times?

It’s a matter of fairness.  And to suggest that a woman can’t handle a career and a family at the same time, especially when her husband is a stay-at-home dad, I don’t believe I have heard such a ridiculous statement in my lifetime.  I understand Nancy Pelosi has five children and nobody ever suggested that she couldn’t have a career in politics and have a family at the same time.  This is what women have been striving for and now we have this woman bashed because she represents the ideal?

The good part about it is that it will backfire big time.  And the sad part is they don’t even have a clue as to why.

She will survive and come out victorious.

Posted:  09.02.08

41 Comments

Filed under John McCain, life, Media, politics, Uncategorized